homemade herb drop biscuits

workhardstayhappy.com

This recipe was a total “I really hope this works” kind of thing. We were having dinner one night and I really wanted biscuits with it. I don’t even remember what the meal was. That’s because the biscuits stole the show. I took the “dumplings” from a chicken and dumplings recipe I had made and guessed on the oven temperature and time. And it worked. Phew! I figured, if they work in the dutch oven, they must come out okay in the oven right?

workhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.com

Homemade Herb Biscuits – makes about 7-8 small biscuits.

3/4 cup flour

3/4 tsp dried herb (I usually use dill, chives or oregano)

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp garlic powder

1 3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup milk (I use nonfat, I have also used almond milk!)

workhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.com

Preheat oven to 350F.

Thoroughly mix together all of the dry ingredients. Slowly add milk to dry ingredients while constantly stirring. Gently mix until everything is well incorporated.

Using a spoon, drop biscuits into a greased biscuit mold, or onto a greased baking sheet. I like using my little cast iron mold because they come out as little balls. When I cook them on a baking sheet, the shapes are all over the place. But that is fun because it adds to the homemade feel of these. So, don’t sweat if you don’t have a fancy pan.

Try to make the biscuits all the same size for a uniform cooking time.

Cook for 20 minutes in preheated oven.

workhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.com

If your biscuits are on the bigger side, they may need more time. If they are on the small side, then less time. Usually 20 minutes is perfect though. You want the tops to be golden and a tiny bit crispy.

Eat while warm, smearing a little butter in the middle. Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

