happy birthday jolene

workhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.com

Meet Jolene Antarctica Moyer. Since I’ve never actually introduced you to our kids, I thought Jolene’s birthday was a good day to start. Today our girl turns three! I cannot believe she is three years old! It seems like only last Christmas we went down to the shelter to pick up our six month old baby. That was the second happiest day of my life (first being our wedding day!). We had no idea how much this little girl would impact our lives. Getting her was one of the best decisions we ever made.

workhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.com

When we adopted her, we had no idea how soft she was. They make you wear gloves when you meet the kitties because they get sick so easily. It was really weird holding and petting her with gloves on. As soon as we picked her up, and she curled into our arms, we knew she was the one. When we got in the car I immediately opened her carrying box. I know, the exact opposite of what they tell you to do. But I couldn’t wait to hold our girl and see her face again. The adoption process was only about 20 minutes, but it seemed like a lifetime. As soon as I touched her fur, I looked at Tyler and said “Touch her. Now.” Words can’t describe how soft she is. It’s almost like touching a cloud.

workhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.com

Anxious to get home, I put her back into her box and closed the lid. After that she cried and cried and cried. It broke my heart! So, I took her out of her box. I put her on my lap and she reached up and wrapped her little kitten arms around my neck. And that’s how we drove home. The 40 minute drive seemed like five. It was the most amazing feeling having this little creature wrapped around my neck, I never wanted the ride to end!

workhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.comworkhardstayhappy.com

Since that day, Jolene has brought us nothing but happiness. She brightens both of our days and expanded our hearts more than we thought possible. Her personality has changed so much in her three years, I can’t wait to see what it morphs into during the next (hopefully) ten+ years.

One thought on “happy birthday jolene

Leave a Reply

