oh (dutch) baby!

work hard, stay happy

I am weirdly obsessed with Dutch Babies. They are just so beautiful and unique looking, but so simple to make. I also bet you wouldn’t believe me if I said this was a recipe from my Cooking Light cookbook. Well it is. So enjoy this one and don’t feel bad about it either.

work hard, stay happy

work hard, stay happy

work hard, stay happy

Dutch Baby, serves 1 – 4 people… depending on how hungry you are, or how generous you’re feeling.

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup fat free milk

2 tbs sugar

1 tbs cinnamon (I wasn’t joking when I said I add this to everything)

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg

1 egg white

1 tbs butter

powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 425F. Combine flour, milk, sugar, cinnamon, salt, egg, and egg white in a medium bowl. Stir until moist. Melt butter in a 10″ cast iron skillet over medium heat. Pour batter into the skillet and cook for one minute. Do not stir. Carefully transfer to the oven and bake for 18 minutes or until puffed and golden (mine usually puff up HUGE and then deflate before my eyes. It’s pretty cool.) Dust with powdered sugar and serve.

work hard, stay happy

work hard, stay happy

YUM. This is Tyler’s first request on the weekends, even before pancakes. I serve it with berries and syrup. Sometimes I drop a few frozen blue berries on top and then bake it. The berries burst while it bakes and the flavor is incredible.

work hard, stay happyToday I just stuck with fresh black berries. Oh baby.

Leave a Reply

