neon green and a GE update

Image

My grandma moved here from Lake Havasu City last August, and she brought with her some really amazing stuff. Or, “junk” as she calls it. Lucky for me that means she is willing to part with a lot of it. One thing that really jumped out to Tyler was her patio furniture. It’s pretty rusted and needs some TLC, but with the right paint job it could be really fun and unique. Friday, my mom casually asked grandma if she wouldn’t mind parting with it, and she said not at all, as long as she had something to replace it with. My mom offered up some old rusted table she had as an exchange, promising it would be painted to brighten up grandma’s patio.

Image

Image

Keeping that promise in mind, I picked the brightest glossy green they had.

I started by sanding all of the rust and rough edges off. Luckily it wasn’t in too bad of shape.

Image

Image

Image

Next, primer. I paid the most attention to rusted areas, but did make sure to cover it all to prevent future rust. After it dried I sprayed color. I used about  1 1/2 cans of color.

Image

I really love how bright this came out! It was definitely brighter than I had imagined, but I think grandma will love it. It really brings out the green in the surrounding plants, which is perfect for her little plant-filled patio.

Meanwhile….

Image

Image

Image

Tyler was busy masking, sanding, and priming. We started with a high-build primer, it was the first of many coats. This will help us see what areas need some extra love, maybe even some Bondo. After we fix any needed areas we are going to use Cover Stain as the final primer.

Image

Image

Image

After we finish with primer, then it’s painting time! That’s what I am looking forward to the most.

3 thoughts on “neon green and a GE update

  1. I love this table! What kind of chairs are you thinking of putting with it? Waylon says hi; he would like a play date with Trae soon.

Leave a Reply

