orange mint whiskey drink

Image

I’m going to start by saying whiskey is Tyler’s drink of choice. We always have some on hand.  It took us a little while to find a tasty whiskey at an affordable price. We love Trader Joe’s Kentucky Bourbon and Bulleit. My affection for this alcohol didn’t come easily, and I’m still looking for new recipes to make it more to my liking… especially when it’s all we have in the cupboard after a long day at work. I’ve been making whiskey sours lately, but I ran out of lemons. We did however have a ton of mint and oranges, two things I absolutely love. So, I made this delightful concoction.

Image

1 ounce mint simple syrup

4 ounces orange juice (freshly squeezed, or not)

3 ounces whiskey

First make the simple syrup. This is actually a really easy task. I used to avoid recipes with simple syrup, mainly because it sounded intimidating and complicated. Silly me.

Combine 1 cup water with 1 cup sugar and a handful or more of mint in a small saucepan over medium high heat. Whisk until sugar dissolves. Remove from heat, cover, and let steep for at least 30 minutes. For the best mint flavor you could let it sit over night, but in a bind 30 minutes does the trick. This makes way more syrup than you need for this drink, so store it for future emergencies!

Image

Image

Combine syrup, orange juice and whiskey in a cocktail shaker, or something with a lid, and shake it until everything is well combined. Pour over ice. Makes two drinks, or one big one.

Image

We have a ton of mint, so I decided to freeze it in ice cubes. The cubes weren’t frozen in time for this recipe, but it’s supposed to be 90 degrees this weekend, so I’ll try them then.

Image

2 thoughts on “orange mint whiskey drink

Leave a Reply

